Bipolar and Stress

Mental illness and stress is a self perpetuating circle for me. How about you?

My short term leave of absence from work is coming to an end and I’m schedule to return to a high stress job in just a few days. As I sit here and plan my return, I can’t help but wonder how I am going to side step the pot holes of stress and what I now know as a mixed episode melt down. Stress causes melt down. Melt down causes missed work. Missed work is diminished paycheck which doesn’t pay the bills and causes more stress. What a mess.

So how does a person with bipolar, “passing” in the (term used with grimace) normal world deal with stress. Different things will work for different people. I prefer to let the daily stress build up and then retreat to my safe space, my home, and do a project, read, something. Not the best plan, since I keep having to miss work. I think I need an “in the stress of the moment” activity as well.

So until I win the lottery and can turn my back on all stress, I will contine to find ways to deal with and release one of my mortal enemies, stress.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mountain Missy
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 14:04:57

    Just a passing thought from me to you but I try to alleviate my stress by living in the moment…being mindful they call it. I’ve read so much about being present in this situation and forget the past and try not to worry about the future. “This too shall pass” always helps me when I need a mantra to get me through. Best of luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

